PRAISE FOR THE DOLLHOUSE
A TIME Magazine Summer Reading Pick
A Publishers Weekly First Fiction Pick
An August LibraryReads Pick
theSkimm Reads Pick of the Week
 

“Get ready for glitz, glamour and a whole lot of sleuthing.” Brit + Co

“The glamorous world of a bygone era when young girls moved to NYC with hopes of making their dreams come true.” Family Circle

“Fans of Lily Koppel’s The Red Leather Diary and Elizabeth Winder’s Pain, Parties, Work: Sylvia Plath in New York, Summer 1953 will devour this period fiction mingled with twists and turns that keep the reader engrossed until the very last page.” Bookreporter

“The result is a well-crafted mystery, full of twists and surprises—don’t be too sure you’ve figured it out until you get near the end. It is also a well-researched view of 1952, showing the status and expectations of women at that time, and how they have changed since then (as well as ways they haven’t changed enough). Fiona Davis is a graduate of the Columbia University School of Journalism, and her research in preparation for The Dollhouse shows impressive journalistic instincts. I think this is a novel readers will enjoy, on more than one level.”The Popular Culture Association, Mystery & Detective Fiction Caucus

“The narrative toggles between the viewpoints of present and past residents while telling the mysterious stories of the sometimes wild and glamorous girls who lived in the hotel.”  — Fodors.com, Summer Reading Pick

“The backdrop of Barbizon history and the likability of Darby and Rose will keep readers’ attention." — Booklist

“The Dollhouse is the kind of historical, New York-y novel I remember reading before I moved here; it’s about the Barbizon Hotel for women, which (of course) is alive mostly in the memory of longtime New Yorkers.”
Sara Nelson, Omnivoracious

“Davis layers on relationships and intrigue, while building tension through her story structure… The pace quickens as the story hurtles to its surprising—but satisfying—end. Who said history had to be dull, anyway?" 
BookPage